Religious Flags: One Nation, Under God

Religious Flags: One Nation, Under God

Posted by Hayley Adams on Jun 8th 2023

Part of the beauty that built this incredible country is that America represents a unity of many different states and people from different backgrounds and religions. This land of freedom allows its citizens to practice their religion of choice proudly, which is something to be celebrated!

However, it seems as though religion and Christianity are slowly slipping away in today's society. Often times we find ourselves unable to display our religious beliefs or our Christian faith in public places which is not what America is supposed to be.

It’s important to remember that we are, and always will be, One Nation Under God. To help us make a statement, our Eagle Mountain family has partnered up with the community to offer a free cross and a stick flag to be displayed in your yard to remind the community that we are a Christian nation! If you are interested in participating and joining this effort, please contact Clide at (512)-826-2626.

More Religious Flags

Here at Eagle Mountain, we offer a wide variety of religious flags. We want to keep our American roots and represent all religious beliefs and backgrounds. Take a look at some of the flags we offer and some insight to their meanings.

Christian Flag

The Christian flag is designed to serve all different sectors of Christianity and is often displayed by Protestant churches. The flag features a white background, with a Latin red cross inside of a blue canton. The red on the flag symbolizes the spilling of Jesus Christ's blood when he climbed Mount Calvary to redeem others of their sins. The white represents purity, and the blue is representative of Jesus' royalty as the true King of Man.

The Jerusalem Cross Flag

The Jerusalem Cross flag has been a symbol of faith for centuries. Being one of the most recognizable emblems in the world, the Jerusalem cross has several interpretations. Some historians believe that the large cross represents Christ, while the four smaller crosses represent Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. Others suggest that the symbol is a visualization of the gospel being spread to the four corners of the Earth.

Papal Flag

For those who have visited the Vatican City in Italy or who have watched a special mass with the Pope, the Papal flag is a familiar sight. This flag, also known as the Vatican or Catholic flag, is the flag most commonly used by the pope.

Israel Flag

Similar to the Christian flag, the Israeli flag also features a white background for purity and features a blue star of David on the flag between two solid blue lines.

Episcopal Flag

The Episcopal flag was first adopted in the 1940s and is a variation of the Christian flag. It too features red, white, and blue for the blood, purity, and royalty. It also features nine crosslets representing the nine dioceses that formed the church.

United Methodist Flag

The United Methodist Flag also features a white background for purity. The flag's symbol of a cross with a double-flame is meant to convey both power and warmth. First created in 1968, the United Methodist Flag is still used today, and now features the words "The United Methodist Church".

Presbyterian Flag

The Presbyterian Flag is made up of many religious symbols. Its top part of the cross is formed by a descending dove, which represents the Holy Spirit and is a symbol of peace. The nearby horizontal area represents a Bible that is open for all to read. The flames on both sides of the flag communicate the importance of the Old Testament and preaching within the church. The triangle featured is representative of the Presbyterian government.

Buddhist Flag

The Buddhist Flag is one of the most brightly colored religious flags available. It is meant to reflect the aura of Buddha that can only be achieved once you become enlightened. The flag is also seen as a symbol of peace and religious faith.